How to celebrate Halloween in Brussels

| 5 min read

How to celebrate Halloween in Brussels

With scary movies, spooky brunches and fantastic kids’ events, Brussels is a great place to celebrate Halloween. Even though Halloween isn’t exactly a long-standing Belgian tradition, we’ve embraced this American holiday and throw lots of fun events to keep you up all night. Below is an overview of places where you can celebrate Halloween in Brussels.

1 Have drinks around a coffin at Le Cercueil

Le Cercueil, a bar next to Grand Place, is without a doubt the most creepy one in Brussels. Sitting at the end of a dark alley, this quirky bar is Halloween-inspired all year long. Its most striking feature are the coffins that have been repurposed as tables to sit around. Although most of them are closed with a wooden lid, one is covered with a glass plate, through which you can see the creepy skeleton that’s resting there forever. Also the drinks are Halloween-themed with beer cocktails served in a skull-shaped mug or cocktails with obscene names.

Halloween in Brussels Halloween in Brussels

2 Halloween festival in Saint-Gilles

On October 31, all monsters, trolls, golems and witches gather in Saint-Gilles for a scary Halloween night. Lots of family-friendly activities are organized in the Pierre Paulus park and on Place Morichar. Enjoy fantastic light shows, music, story-tellers, juggler performances… At 7PM, the sky will be lit by fantastic fireworks.

A monster parade will then lead you to the Fantastic Art museum where 'Halloween Man' will throw candies around. In the Center of Fantastic Art, just a bit further, you’ll get to enjoy a full Halloween program with spooky entertainment.

Halloween in Brussels

3 Go underground and explore the bowels of Brussels

Although not a typical Halloween activity, there is no better period to visit these atypical Brussels museums. In the Sewer Museum you’ll descend into an underground tunnel along the sewage system and the capped Senne river. If you look closely, you might even spot monsters like sea dragons and water serpents.

Halloween in Brussels - Sewer museum

Also the Coudenberg museum boasts an underground section where the light never shines, and which would make for an excellent hideout for vampires. These are the underground foundations of the former Coudenberg palace. Walk through the tunnels underneath the heart of Brussels and get a great glimpse at Brussels history.

Halloween in Brussels - Coudenberg

4 Halloween brunch at Hard Rock Café

Hard Rock Café is hosting one of its traditional brunches known as the Lil’ Monstars Breakfast. During this yearly event, both little ones and grown-ups are welcomed in a spooky setting… for a rich Halloween brunch. While you help yourself to an all-you-can-eat buffet, kids can participate in one of the special Halloween activities. They can decorate their own donuts and make their own toppings or ask the make-up artist to transform them into their favorite monster. The family-friendly Halloween brunch takes place on Sunday October 27 and costs 17,95 EUR for adults, and 11,95 EUR for kids.

On October 31, Hard Rock Café is hosting another big event. Put on your creepiest outfit and head over to Hard Rock Café for a big Halloween party with a DJ. The staff is all dressed up for Halloween, which creates a great atmosphere. Make sure to try the special Halloween cocktail, if you dare!

Halloween in Brussels

5 Pharmacie Anglaise

Situated close to the Coudenberg museum mentioned above, La Pharmacie Anglaise is a cocktail bar within an old pharmacy that has preserved its 19th century design. The interior is decorated in a quirky way with animals in alcohol flasks, a large stuffed bear at the entrance and a freaky stuffed lion further inside. This steampunk cabinet of curiosities creates a perfect setting for a Halloween apero. The drinks, served by experienced mixologists, are truly exceptional and decorated with the utmost care.

6 Visit the Fantastic Art Museum

Somewhere in between a haunted house and a surrealist art museum, the Fantastic Art Museum is an eccentric place filled with cyborg body parts, vampire cocoons and terminator heads. The place is dedicated to displaying the bizarre through all mediums of art, like paintings, illustrations, sculptures, videos and sound fragments… All the items on display have something in common with the fantastic, the strange or the surrealistic. Crazy for some, strange to the point of scary for others, the Fantastic Art Museum is a great place to visit around Halloween. The exposition is laid out of the three floors of a Patrician house in Saint-Gilles.

Halloween in Brussels

7 Halloween Night at the movies

Nothing says Halloween like an evening filled with bloody extravaganzas, bats and spiders, haunted houses, and enough suspenseful moments to keep you on the edge of your seat. Amongst others, those are the key elements of the Halloween program created by Kinepolis Brussels. On October 31, a terrifying movie marathon sporting three different movies will bring you in a scary spirit between 8 PM and 3 AM. The scheduled movies for Halloween Night are Dr. Sleep, the preview showing of Zombieland – Double Tap and finally the preview showing of Countdown. In between the movies you’ll receive a little treat to keep you going. So bring your friends and get ready to scream your head off. You can buy a ticket online for 29,95 EUR.

Halloween in Brussels

Comments

Do you have questions? Did you experience something similar? Did you notice a mistake? Please share!

Pin it for later

Comment fêter Halloween à Bruxelles

| 5 min read

Comment fêter Halloween à Bruxelles

Avec ses films effrayants, ses brunchs fantasmagoriques et ses événements fantastiques pour les enfants, Bruxelles est un endroit idéal pour célébrer Halloween. Même si Halloween n’est pas une tradition belge de longue date, nous avons adopté cette coutume américaine et de nombreux événements amusants sont organisés pour vous garder éveillé toute la nuit. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un aperçu des différentes façons de célébrer Halloween à Bruxelles.

1 Prendre un verre autour d'un cercueil au... Cercueil

Le Cercueil, un bar attenant à la Grand Place, est sans aucun doute le plus effrayant de Bruxelles. Terré au bout d'une allée sombre, ce bar original s'inspire de l'Halloween tout au long de l'année. Sa caractéristique la plus inédite sont les cercueils qui ont été transformés en tables autour desquelles vous prenez place. Bien que la plupart des cercueils soient fermés par un couvercle en bois, l’un d'eux est recouvert d’une plaque de verre à travers laquelle vous pouvez voir le squelette effrayant qui y repose pour toujours. Les boissons sont également sur le thème de Halloween avec des cocktails à la bière servis dans une tasse en forme de tête de mort ou des cocktails aux noms obscènes.

Halloween in Brussels Halloween in Brussels

2 Fête d'Halloween à Saint-Gilles

Le 31 octobre, tous les monstres, trolls, golems et sorcières se rassemblent à Saint-Gilles pour une effrayante nuit d’Halloween. De nombreuses activités familiales sont organisées dans le parc Pierre Paulus et sur la place Morichar. Laissez vous envoûter par de fantastiques spectacles de lumière, de musique, laissez-vous charmer par ces incroyables conteurs, par les performances de ces jongleurs vraiment doués… À 19 heures, le ciel sera éclairé par de fantastiques feux d'artifice.

Une parade de monstres vous mènera ensuite au musée d'Art fantastique où «Halloween Man» lancera des bonbons. Dans le Centre d'Art Fantastique, un peu plus loin, vous pourrez profiter d'un programme complet d'Halloween avec des animations fantasmagoriques

Halloween in Brussels

3 Entrez dans la clandestinité et explorez les entrailles de Bruxelles

Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une activité typique de l’Halloween, il n'existe pas de meilleur moment pour visiter ces musées bruxellois atypiques. Dans le Musée de l’égout, vous descendrez dans un tunnel souterrain longeant le labyrinthe d’égouts et la rivière La Senne. Si vous regardez attentivement, vous pourrez peut-être apercevoir des monstres tels que des dragons de mer et des serpents d’eau.

Halloween in Brussels - Sewer museum

Le musée Coudenberg possède également une section souterraine où la lumière ne brille jamais et qui serait un excellent refuge pour les vampires. Ce sont les fondations souterraines de l'ancien palais du Coudenberg. Promenez-vous dans les tunnels situés au cœur de Bruxelles et découvrez l’histoire de Bruxelles.

Halloween in Brussels - Coudenberg

4 Brunch d'Halloween au Hard Rock Café

Le Hard Rock Café vous accueille pour l'un de ses brunchs traditionnels, mieux connu sous le nom de Lil’ Monstars Breakfast. Au cours de cet événement annuel, petits et grands sont accueillis dans un décor sinistre… pour un brunch fastueux d’Halloween. Pendant que vous vous régalez d'un buffet à volonté, les enfants peuvent participer à l'une des activités spéciales d'Halloween, tels que confectionner leurs propres garnitures pour décorer leurs beignets... Ils peuvent aussi demander à la maquilleuse de les transformer en monstre. Le brunch Halloween pour les familles a lieu le dimanche 27 octobre et coûte 17,95 EUR pour les adultes et 11,95 EUR pour les enfants.

Le 31 octobre, le Hard Rock Café organisera un autre grand événement. Enfilez votre tenue la plus effrayante et rendez-vous au Hard Rock Café pour une grande fête d'Halloween avec un DJ. Le personnel est habillé "Halloween", ce qui crée une super ambiance. N'oubliez pas de découvrir.... si vous l'osez, le cocktail spécial Halloween !

Halloween in Brussels

5 Pharmacie Anglaise

Située à proximité du musée Coudenberg mentionné ci-dessus, La Pharmacie Anglaise est un bar à cocktails installé dans une ancienne pharmacie qui a conservé son design du XIXe siècle. L'intérieur est décoré de façon originale avec des animaux dans des flacons d'alcool, un grand ours en peluche à l'entrée et un lion en peluche bizarre à l'intérieur. Ce cabinet de curiosités steampunk crée un cadre idéal pour un apéro de Halloween. Les cocktails, servies par des mixologues expérimentés, sont vraiment exceptionnelles et décorées avec le plus grand soin.

6 Visitez le musée d'art fantastique

Niché entre une maison hantée et un musée d'art surréaliste, le musée d'art fantastique est un lieu excentrique rempli de parties de corps cyborg, de cocons de vampire et de têtes de terminateur. Le lieu est dédié à l'étrange sous toutes ses formes, à travers tous les médiums de l'art, de la peinture, des illustrations, des sculptures, des vidéos et des fragments de sons… Tous les objets exposés ont quelque chose en commun avec le fantastique, l'étrange ou le surréalisme. Fou pour certains, étrange au point de faire peur à d’autres, le Fantastic Art Museum est un endroit formidable à visiter en période d'Halloween. L'exposition se déploie sur les trois étages d'une maison patricienne de Saint-Gilles.

Halloween in Brussels

7 Nuit d'Halloween au cinéma

Rien de mieux pour Halloween qu'une soirée remplie d'extravagances sanglantes, de chauves-souris et d'araignées, de maisons hantées et de moments de suspense intense qui vous tiennent en haleine de façon magistrale. Ce sont les éléments clés du programme Halloween proposé par Kinepolis Brussels. Le 31 octobre, un marathon de trois films d'horreur vous plongera dans l'effroi entre 20 heures et 3 heures. "Dr. Sleep", les projections en avant-première de "Retour à Zombieland" et de "Countdown" sont les films programmés pour Halloween Night. Entre les films, vous recevrez quelques collations qui vous permettront de "tenir le coup" . Alors amenez vos amis et préparez-vous à crier (ou à hurler ?). Vous pouvez acheter un billet en ligne pour 29,95 EUR.

Halloween in Brussels

Comments

Do you have questions? Did you experience something similar? Did you notice a mistake? Please share!

Pin it for later